Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

To Refugium or not to Refugium??

I am new to the reef aquarium hobby and have building my system for quite some time now. I’ve spent most of my time reading and planning on how I want to build my system. I have some questions for which I have not been able to find a whole lot of conversation on. I’ve noticed a lot of successful aquariums with refugiums and a lot without. So here it goes, my first question...Oh I have so many questions... What are the benefits of having a refugium and those without? Also, what is the best way of setting it up? I’m not necessarily talking about water flow or the location of the tank to the return pump but rather how should a successful refugium be setup? DSB, live rock, type of algae, small, large, etc.? I really appreciate any help or suggestions and I hope these questions don’t sound too rookie like!--Thanks!

Comments

• map95003map95003 Posts: 773
    edited February 2010
    Pros: The benefits of having a fuge out weighs not having one in my opinion. It's a save haven for pods and other micro organisms to flourish before they become someone's meal and in turn it feeds your display tank. In addition, if you grow some type of macro algae (a few options available, I grow cheato), this will help with the reduction of nitrate/phosphate. If you setup it up with a DSB, this is also a plus with the denitrification process.

Cons: Some say after a while the build up of junk could cause problems - to avoid this clean it every few months, don't disturb the sandbed, just swirl the water around and vacuum up the the stuff that has settled.
    From what I've read the fuge does not work well in a bacteria driven tank because there isn't much for it to break down.

I'm sure there are other pros and cons that others will mention or correct me if I'm wrong....by the way, welcome to RB and good luck.
  • jimw369jimw369 Posts: 3,180